How to watch the FIFA Best Awards online, TV

Marcus Newton
September 25, 2018

Modric beat Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to win the best men's player award, while Brazilian worldwide Marta added a sixth title to her collection.

The Croatian also won the Golden Ball for the player of the tournament in Russian Federation and Midfielder of the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League Season award beating Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) and Toni Kroos (Real Madrid).

Hardcore Liverpool supporters argued that Salah ought to have been named the best player but Modric took that prize home after three consecutive Champions League triumphs and a journey to the World Cup final with Croatia.

Salah earned the award - amid widespread disbelief - for his goal against Everton in December 2017.

In the past decade Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have won every award going more or less, so Modric makes a change.

"I don't want to enter into the debate of whether it is deserved or not", he said. Thanks to my fans all over the world for the great support and love that they are showing me.

The unforgettable overhead kicks of both Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale were sights to behold last season and there were several other strong contenders for the honour but Salah won out in the end.

USA liable for global terror continuance: Iran
There was no immediate claim of responsibility for the shooting rampage dubbed a "terrorist" attack by the authorities. The Guard said in its statement that it was willing to pursue the attackers "regionally and beyond".

US, regional allies responsible for Iran terror attack: FM
Dozens of people, including women and children, were killed in an attack on a military parade in southwestern Iran on Saturday. He added that none of the terrorists could escape, noting that other reports about the details of the attack are not confirmed.

Oil prices fall amid surprise growth in USA crude stocks
A pump jack operates in the Permian Basin oil production area near Wink, Texas U.S. There are signs, however, that Saudi Arabian exports did not increase in July.

The impending absence of Ronaldo from Monday's gala has further fueled speculation that the 2018 ward is for Modric.

Newly signed Real Madrid goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois won the best goalkeeper's award - beating Kasper Schmeichel and Hugo Lloris in the process.

She led Brazil to the Copa America in April, as they won all seven matches - although she only scored one of their 31 goals.

In the FIFA's women's coach of the year award category, Matildas coach Alen Stajcic was pipped by Olympique Lyonnais Feminin boss Reynald Pedros.

Best Goalkeeper award: The best goalkeeper was by Belgian worldwide and Chelsea goalkeeper, Thibaut Courtois.

Every national team captain is afforded the chance to have their say and the two five Ballon d'Or winners' choices have been revealed on the official Federation Internationale de Football Association website. Thanks to my fans all over the world.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article